Kyrgyzstan: cumulative period of visa-free stay for foreigners has been limited

Please be informed of the changes to the legislation of Kyrgyzstan, which limit the period of cumulative stay for those who arrive in the country without visas.

What law introduces the changes?

- Resolution of the Cabinet of Ministers of the Kyrgyz Republic No. 541 dated October 10, 2023 (entered into force on 28.10.2023)

What are the changes?

The regulation on the procedure for the stay of foreign citizens in the territory of the Kyrgyz Republic has been approved, which, in particular, limits the total period of visa-free stay in the country as follows:

- Nationals of EAEU countries (Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Russia) as well as Ukraine, Serbia, Turkey, and Mongolia – no more than 90 days out of 180 days.

NB! The mentioned limit will apply to Kazakh nationals starting from September 1, 2024.

- Nationals of countries eligible for visa waiver for 60 days and nationals of Uzbekistan – no more than 60 days out of 120 days. In order to stay longer it is necessary to arrange registration or obtain another applicable document – a visa or a residence permit.

Intermark comments

The adopted changes limit the possibility of the so called “visa run” – a practice of leaving the country and entering again with aim to reset the allowed period of stay without registration. Please note that the continuous period of stay in Kyrgyzstan without registration is still limited by the exemption period granted to nationals of a particular country. For example, nationals of the EAEU countries are exempt from registration for 30 days from arrival only. They may still depart before this deadline and enter the country again. However, under the new rules they will be required to register anyway before their cumulative stay exceeds 90 days in a 180-day period.

Who will be affected?

Foreign nationals visiting Kyrgyzstan.

  • Share post: